to guru and others

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tamer

20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am just beginning the road your taking (will be sitting for Part 1) and have decided to look for a dental assistant job this month.Seeing you've been through all this its only natural for me to ask your(&anyone else whos been through this) advice. I'm foreign trained(obviously) but I do have citizenship.So it isnt really hard to find work as a DA?Will the pay be enough to live off?And my last question ,how are you paying college fees,are you money-dependent or independent?

I will appreciate any replies

Members don't see this ad.

Hi Tamer

Firstly ,I want to wish you luck in your forth-coming examinations and also luck in your job search as a D.A. I do not see any connections between your citizenship and the ease of you finding a job as a D.A. It is very independent on your country of origin.

But once you find one you might be opportuned to see dentistry in a "different" image as compared to what we (or you) did abroad. As a matter of fact some interviewers in some adv standing program interviews actually gives you a plus, having realised that you'd assisted in a dental office.

On the issue of income as a D.A ,you might be able to "survive" on the salary if you live within your means. What do you mean by money dependent or money independent?

Hey Guru,