This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jorhey

Reaction score
My name is Jorge and I am a rising sophomore at Rutgers University - New Brunswick pursuing a degree in Economics with a minor in Public Health, potentially a double major, while on the Pre-Med track. I am very passionate about the access and quality of healthcare/medicine in the United States as well as on a global scale. I also have strong interests in healthcare policy and administration. Currently, I am trying to decide whether I want to pursue Medical School or Graduate School. Here is my predicament:

Currently, I am majoring in Economics, a subject I genuinely enjoy and have a strong desire to learn about. In fact, from the beginning of my college career, I knew that if I were to do the pre-med track, I did not want to be a traditional science major. However, prior to selecting Economics I was focusing on Finance. This did not go so well because in order for me to major in Finance at Rutgers, I had to transfer from the School of Arts and Sciences to Rutgers Business School. Transferring in itself required a good amount of classes and credits that had to be completed, because of this I took 17.5 credits my first semester of college and 20 credits my second. I did this in order to stay on track for Medical School while also trying to complete the classes needed to transfer. Obviously this was a very bad choice because I wound up hurting my GPA as it was almost impossible for me to manage in addition to familial problems I had going on at the time. I completed my first semester with a GPA of 3.0 but after my second semester, in which I took 20 credits, I ended up with a 2.4.