To retake the GRE or not to retake the GRE, that is the question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AlaskaScribe

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Whether tis nobler for the mind to suffer the slings and arrows of outrageous fortune or to take arms against a Sea of troubles, and by opposing end them; to die, to sleep...

I just finished with the GRE testing yesterday, and my preliminary quantitative score was 149 and my verbal was 163 (my essay portion I'm going to conservatively guess between 4-5). I graduated cum laude with a BFA in Theatre and Dance double major, with a cGPA of 3.518.

Since college I've continued taking math courses while working full time, getting mostly As with one B, and I got a D in anatomy class after a skiing accident made it impossible for me to get to class for the rest of the semester (blew the ACL on the leg that I use to clutch on my manual car, on crutches in December, so pretty much a hot mess). I'm currently in trigonometry through an online state university extension and plan on taking calculus I in the spring.

I've also been working in various medical areas since graduation; I spent 6 months as a personal care attendant to several elderly people with a variety of medical issues, 2.5 years working as a pathologist's assistant running his office operations, personal life, as well as assisting in autopsies (adult and fetal), gross dissection of specimens, performing cytologic and histologic tests, and currently almost 3 years working as a transcriptionist to 50 bed and 4 OR hospital with 5 physical therapy offices, a drug treatment center, a psychiatric group, and a nursing home. I will probably go back to working part time for the pathologist this winter. I know I can get a good recommendation from him, as well as his wife who is a retired pediatrician who I worked with on occasion.