May 12, 2009
Status
Pre-Medical
I'm a second year and I'm still on the fence on whether I should take the USMLE. When will it be too late to sign up? or is it already cutting it close?

Also, my reason to take the USMLE is more for location (texas, illinois, connecticut) rather than specialty. is it worth taking it even thu I'm pretty average student?

thanks.

Flushot

10+ Year Member
Feb 25, 2008
Status
Resident [Any Field]
As a fairly average student myself, I think it is even more important to take it and broaden your options. Studying for the USMLE will prepare you well for the COMLEX too from the general consensus on these boards; just give yourself a few days to review OMM and do a few more questions.

It's just one day and think of it as doing an interview. Yeah, you'll have to fly out somewhere maybe and stay the night before in a hotel, but seriously, this is a major decision and I wouldn't let location change your mind that much.

OP
A
May 12, 2009
Status
Pre-Medical
thanks a lot guys. I guess I'm mostly worried of screwing up and having it hurt me more than if I didn't take it. Any opinions on that?

Sam212

Lover, not a fighter
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Jun 9, 2004
Status
Fellow [Any Field]
When in doubt, always take the USMLE

Flushot

10+ Year Member
Feb 25, 2008
Status
Resident [Any Field]
Yes, take the USMLE and keep your options as broad as possible.
You will have more residency choices in your desired states.

Here is a guide I made, back when I was preparing:
https://docs.google.com/viewer?a=v&pid=explorer&chrome=true&srcid=0B6W59Rk6okJGY2I0YWM0NGYtY2MxYy00ZjM2LTg0ODctNTE2NDljNjk5ZTE1&authkey=CISxncoN&hl=en
This is a pretty decent guide that goes into the general consensus for studying. Just remember though that everyone's study method is a little different.