To tell or not to tell?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

anxiousnadd

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I'm a third year student that's going to be applying to EM residency programs for the match of 2010. I'm going to spare giving you all a long narrative, so I'm going to jump to the point. My sibling has a diagnosed medical condition that will be requiring a bone marrow transplant from me. Needless to say, I've been juggling family and medical school for the past 2.5 years and when it came time for boards, family won out (at the expense of my step I board score).

My question is, I fear that if I tell the residencies in my personal statement or in my interview about that, that it might reflect negatively on my ability to work through adversity, etc etc. If it's going to sound like I'm giving an excuse for the red flags in my application, then I'd rather not even bring it up. Or even worse, I'm afraid that the programs won't want to invest in a resident that may have attached drama from family medical issues. Seeing it typed out makes me feel like it's dumb to think about that, but it's certainly been something bothersome to me. So, is there any particular way that I should approach this?

Members don't see this ad.

rock step 2, and you'll have great interview fodder. no one is going to fault you for everything you wrote about, but dude, if you rock step 2 (which isnt that hard to do) and do well in your EM electives, you'll get into the EM residency of your choice.