To Withdraw or Not to Withdraw...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Skitty

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Okay, hi everybody!

(Hi, Dr. Nick!)

Ahem. Anyway, I'm a sophomore Chem major. Since my school is ACS certified, I'm required to take two semesters of a language. Last quarter, I took Spanish 203 and barely scraped by with a B. This quarter, I'm taking 311 and my average right now is a B as well. However, this class has an extremely heavy workload, and I'm also taking a writing-intensive lab (Quant. Anal. - and it's analogous lecture) and Orgo, Calculus, voice lessons, choir, and martial arts 3-4 days per week. I also volunteer and work in a lab, so I'm not sure I have time to take the Spanish class without forgoing something trivial like, say sleep.

Should I just "premed" it, like one of my friends suggested, and tough it out? Would a withdrawal look completely horrible on my transcript? My GPA freshman year wasn't stellar, so I don't want anything horrible on it from now on.

Members don't see this ad.

You'd probably be fine with a few withdrawals on your transcript, but using that out for a class you're doing relatively well in doesn't seem like a good decision, when you've already put half a semester into the required work. Why not temporarily stop the voice lessons, choir, and/or and martial arts, or decreasing the work hours in the lab? (I would not stop the volunteering.) And a B isn't horrible, though I can see where you're coming from if last year's grades were poor.