Too late? Don't know where to go from here.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

2dumb

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Longtime lurker (24), had an older account, but completely blanked out on everything.

I graduated in 2014, BA in Anthropology. Dismal GPA (sGPA: 2.6, cGPA: 3.2). Took a year off to study the MCAT as well as take care of a family member who was dealing with health issues. I took old MCAT on the last day, received a below average score (25). After that basically spent the next 6 months trying to determine whther I really wanted to go to in to medicine, made up my mind and enrolled in a local community college (financial and personal reasons) and finished up my prereqs and retake some classes. The GPA repair helped me, until I took Organic Chemistry II last winter at a nearby private college, and tanked the class. Retook it at UG college over spring/summer, and did not fare any better due to me missing an entire exam and also a complete changeup from what I learned initially, along with multiple family issues. After this whole snafu, my cGPA is ~3.4, sGPA is 2.9-3.0. Not really promising. I planned on taking my MCAT earlier, but Orgo II cut into my MCAT study time significantly, and I made the decision to study for Orgo (didn't really help) and Now am planning on taking the Sep. 10 MCAT. I had planned on submitting my applications by the end of July, but my LORs gave me trouble. I wasn't a great standout in my science classes, and all my previous science professors (in which I did well in) all either left the school, retired, or died. I scraped the bottom of the barrel, and asked every single professors, even those I got a C in, and I was either rejected or got no reply. I had one lined up back in May, but he has yet to answer my multiple emails and phone calls.