Too late to apply for fall 2011?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

carolinablue

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
long story short, i was a pre-med student hoping to go into psychiatry..just like my sister and mother. I have recently had a huge change of heart, and know that clinical psychology is the path for me (after doing research and weighing the pros and cons). I always felt that the lower pay compared to the MD/DO route was a huge con, but the more i think about it the more i realize that i want to do something that i really feel passionate about.
so anyways,
I have taken the mcat, but have never taken the GRE.
I have taken 1 psych class, nothing more.
I have been a patient of a psychologist for several months if that means anything..(i think it does, ofcourse its not like shadowing but it sort of is).

Most programs have deadlines in Jan...i have only seen one program that had a deadline in July but forgot which school it was.

I wanted to take classes at the harvard extenssion program which has several great psych classes.
Is there any way at all that I can take classes this spring, and the GRE, and get into a PsyD program in the fall....Or even in the jan of 2012??

please dont ask if i really want to do clinical psych..the last time i posted people kept questioning how serious i was and if i knew what i really wanted...i want to do it :D so please dont discourage me. I just want to know how i can started the fastest way possible.
thank you so much

BTW, i just gradated from the University of north carolina as a pre-med and media studies major.

Members don't see this ad.

Without even getting to the issue of whether clinical psych is the best match for you, this seems very rushed. There are some things to seriously consider:

1. Why PsyD and not PhD?