Too Late to Submit Primary?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

arrmatey3

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

Certain circumstances in my life have come up and I decided that I want to apply this cycle, even though I know I'm extremely late. I've seen some of the deadlines for the primary application and I believe I can submit by November 1. I do have 3.9/35 stats but unfortunately, I'm an Asian CA resident. I know that it's very late and the process is a crapshoot, but do I have any chance? Thank you for any advice!

Members don't see this ad.

Please don't do this. By the time your primary is processed, you're going to be past the submission deadline for a number of secondaries. Even for those schools still accepting secondaries, your app will be at a serious disadvantage due to timing.

Based on your stats alone, you could have an excellent cycle if you plan out your timeline more carefully. I know it's hard to wait, but you will be a significantly less competitive applicant if you apply this cycle. You may get into a medical school, but it would not be the best medical school possible.

Reactions: 1 users
Hi all,

Certain circumstances in my life have come up and I decided that I want to apply this cycle, even though I know I'm extremely late. I've seen some of the deadlines for the primary application and I believe I can submit by November 1. I do have 3.9/35 stats but unfortunately, I'm an Asian CA resident. I know that it's very late and the process is a crapshoot, but do I have any chance? Thank you for any advice!
My grandma taught me a very valuable life lesson one time: it's better to be late than never.

I took her advice to heart and built up the courage to ask out the girl I had a crush on for months.