too low of gpa?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

water4girl

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,
i graduated in may from a good school with a business degree. I now know that i would like to enter med school. I am currently applying to post bac programs. But with a undergrad gpa of 2.7 and a post bac gpa of 3.6 and a high mcat even though i have not taken it...is that still to low to go to med school. I really feel this is my path but i am daunted by the requirments, i may or may not have. Especailly bc someone told me i would not get in with that low of gpa no matter if my post bac was high or not .. Any advice would be appreicated.

Members don't see this ad.

Many people have been accepted with low undergrad GPAs but have made up for it somehow with great postbac or graduate GPAs (more weight on postbac GPA though).

So, you have a good chance if everything else is good. (I have a 2.97, 3.92 grad GPA, 34 MCAT and had my first interview last week...so anything is possible.)

yeah-- don't let your low GPA keep you from applying. I have an undergrad 3.1 (strong upward trend, bio major), a 4.0 post-bacc, and 32 MCAT. I had my first interview 2 weeks ago. Just make sure you have good ECs and LORs, and don't ever let anyone tell you that you don't have a chance.:D

Members don't see this ad :)
Out of curiousity, dpark and Sweet Tea, where are you getting interviews from? Any particular schools you're shooting for?

My state school (UIC)...as far as schools I'm shooting for: ? Many schools are great regardless of rankings, I would be ecstatic if UIC accepted me.