Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Too much to do, too little time :/

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by SBTF2008, Dec 29, 2008.

1. SBTF2008

2+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    Hey,
    Basically, I'm wondering if taking five years to graduate will look bad on my application. I am majoring in Nutrition, minoring in History, participating in the Honors program (extra coursework, basically), planning to spend a semester studying Russian history in St. Petersburg, I am my major's rep for the college of lifesci's student council, and I am working thirty hours a week. Now, I'm weighing two options. Either I drop one of my extras (minor, St. Petersburg, etc.) or I graduate after nine semesters instead of eight. Any insight would be wonderful. Thanks a bunch!

2. 236116

Pre-Health (Field Undecided)
    go for 9 and be prepared to discuss russia.

3. Abulcasis

2+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    Definitely not. A LOT of med school applicants go for a fifth year or even take a year off between Ugrad and med school. It doesn't look bad at all but in fact, it might even help you.

If you have a lot to balance then going for a fifth year only enhances your application. So you went to St. Petersburg and had a minor but graduated late, to me and probably anyone, that's much better and interesting than dropping that to graduate on time. Explore more of what you like and don't let graduation deadlines get to you (my brother had the same problem. My parents felt graduating in his 5th year was a source of some embarrassment but it only helped him :)). As long as you have the grades, the EC's, but there's more you want to pursue, GO FOR IT. Med schools will NOT look down on you for going to school for 9 semesters. More experiences, more life enjoying events, and the more your application looks better.

:)