Took prereqs years ago and now taking MCAT?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lola

Bovine Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Anyone else freaking out like me?? Are you working full time too? How are you managing? I'm thinking of asking for some time off at work, because I don't think I'll be able to apply to schoools, study for and take the August MCAT, and work full time. It's too much!!! (especially when I don't remember hardly anything from any of my science classes)

Members don't see this ad.

Hi lola, I'd suggest you take some time off. We're similar, I took basic sciences 8 years ago!! I needed (& still need) a lot of time to study. I'm taking Aug MCAT too. Good Luck!

Hi!
Yes, I work full time as a systems engineer and commute a good three hours a day, and I completed the premed prereqs in 2000. I actually did general chem and bio way back in '93!

What is everyone's study plan? How do you think you will juggle studying, life and work? How many hours a day and days a week will you study? I am 'officially' starting to study for the MCAT on monday. I'm working out the Study Plan right now.

I asked my boss if I could go part time during the summer, and he has been conveniently avoiding me and my request. We'll see what happens. I will most likely just end up studying at work with his permission so he can bill for me. :rolleyes:

Ahhh - to go back to the days of summer vacation!

So, everyone tell me, how are you going to conquer this beast? Any advice?
:)
u2ecila

I'm a DPM and did my prereq's back in 1985-6 and then finished them in 1992.

I was working at my practice and studying probably one hour a day almost every day since January. On weekends, I would probably put in about 2-3 hours. Truthfully, I think it was overkill. I took the April MCAT and probably did decently enough.