Top MD school friendly to international undergrad background

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

samuel984

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi there,

I'm planning to get my greencard, take prerequisites and apply for MD schools in 5 years. I got my undergrad degree outside of US/Canada. I'm curious what are my chances to get into top MD school if I'll have good prereq GPA (take in 4 year university extension school), MCAT, research, etc? In another word, what are the MD schools friendly to people who got bachelor degree outside the US, and how much does my foreign undergrad degree hurt my application to these schools?
I've already checked MSAR before, but it doesn't specify people with my situation. Hope to know someone who got similar experience. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Your other questions are irrelevant at the moment. First things first:

What's your country of origin?
Where are you in the green card process?

Reactions: 1 user
Your other questions are irrelevant at the moment. First things first:

What's your country of origin?
Where are you in the green card process?
A country in Asia. I'm still applying green card and I expect I can obtain it soon.
I just hope to know how much does my bachelor degree outside the US would hurt the application to top MD schools. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad :)
A country in Asia. I'm still applying green card and I expect I can obtain it soon.
I just hope to know how much does my bachelor degree outside the US would hurt the application to top MD schools. Thanks!
Gonnif has already answered your other questions. I wanted to know the country. But anyway, if I assume you are not from China, then it might be possible that you can make the 6 year horizon work out.

I'm from Taiwan. Many of my friends took around 1 year to get green card.

I'm from Taiwan. Many of my friends took around 1 year to get green card.