This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Doggeronie

5+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
What do you mean on the younger side? Im 30 and do great with my younger co-interns. If you’re weary of non-trads, you’ll be shocked to find that about half of med students are non-trads. If you’re unwilling to work with a 30 year old.. well... idk. You also dont have much control over how old your co-interns are.

What is your gut telling you? If you feel Dartmouth isn’t for you, I wouldn’t rank it as high just for prestige. As an intern, I really understand that it is important to be in a program you actually like. Now I get that it’s high ranked programs are a path of less resistance for fellowships but, it isn’t 100% necessary. In-house fellowships are also important, which they all have. I know people who matched from community programs, DOs, and even Hahnemann (which was full of IMGs) who got cardio, GI, heme/onc...

Reactions: 4 users
I can't really speak to the homogeny at Dartmouth given I am whiter than the snow falling outside the kitchen window. Although my wife (who is/identifies as brown) often mentions having other brown persons present as a considerable comfort factor in different situations, hospitals, jobs, etc. So that plus your gut seems to indicicate Dartmouth might not be for you. (Again this part just my 0.02)

I know sooo many people from small, community hospitals that got fellowships in those specialties (military and civillian). If you want to be the high powered CEO reseracher cancer curing Dr. Strange wizard then maxing out your prestige matters but if not... then I think it's really okay to consider other factors. You'll do better if you're not miserable.