TPR free exam question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

chiddler

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
No background information in the passage.

It was noted that when white light was shined into a normal person's eyes, their rod cells hyperpolarized. This is:

a. normal, because rod cells are usually permeable to sodium.
b. normal, because light opens voltage-gated potassium channels in rod cells.
c. abnormal, because rod cells are hyperpolarized at rest.
d. abnormal, because rod cells respond to red light

answer: A.

So I have very little knowledge of how eyes work in terms of action potential stuff. Can I please have an explanation?

Members don't see this ad.

It was noted that when white light was shined into a normal person's eyes, their rod cells hyperpolarized. This is:

So I have very little knowledge of how eyes work in terms of action potential stuff. Can I please have an explanation?

I'm no pro, but you know your eyes must be permeable to Na+ if they're hyperpolarized (Na/K pump re-establishing resting potential). So C and D are out. And I picked A b/c depolarization is going to happen first, which are Na+ channels (K+ channels are slower to open). I guess the light directly activates Na+ channels. Idk A and B are both tempting

I don't have my book with me now - ps EK does a good job explaining how eyes work.
If I remember correctly though, eyes work in a funky way. It is kind of the reversal of the normal. When light is not shining through, the neurons are actually hyperpolarized.
From wiki:
"Activation of rods and cones is actually hyperpolarization; when they are not being stimulated, they depolarize and release glutamate continuously."

I can double check and quote from my EK book once I have it with me. Or someone want to add?