Transferring to US med schools

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hakim

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone.

I am currently a medical student (with US citizenship) at the American University of Beirut and we've just completed our first year. I was wondering if there is any way to transfer to a med school in the US and what are the requirements.

Thank you in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

Hakim...

Every school differs with regards to its regulations regarding transfers. Many schools take no transfers at all, or limit them to other LCME schools.

Some schools only take transfers if a spot opens up - usually through student failure, death, drop-out, etc. Obviously given the extremely low attrition rate, this doesn't afford a lot of spots.

Others restrict transfers to those with "exceptional reasons" - usually having a spouse in school or on faculty.

Stanley Zaslau wrote a book a few years back about transferring into a US school. I'm not sure how up to date the info is but it is the only centralized source of info about transfers. Otherwise you might check web sites or contact schools for information about their transfer policies. Be prepared to be turned away at many, to be told that you may have to repeat a year, etc.

Best of luck!

I have a resource that, among other things, gives the transfer policies at every US allopathic and osteopathic medical school.
This book is NOT available in libraries or book stores and has a very restricted distribution.

Since there are so many medical colleges, I cannot give you the information for all of them, but I will look up some of those you might be interested in.

Members don't see this ad :)