Transitioning from PhD program in Anthropology to medical school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Visoke28

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Dear All,

I am currently in my first year of a PhD program in Anthropology at one of the top schools in my field. In terms of my academic background, I have a BA in psychology and MA in anthropology, also from a very highly ranked university. My area of study is medical anthropology, with a focus in cultural competency/medical ethics/the medicalization of the body/etc. I have considered medical school over the years, but continually felt I enjoyed the non-clinical, social science research angle more than I would the actual practice of medicine. Since I've been in the PhD program however, I've developed the desire to put my background to more direct and practical use, and very much want to work directly with patients in clinical care. I'm particularly interested in working with urban/minority populations, and hope to eventually work internationally as well with Doctor's Without Borders...and possibly finish the PhD at some point in the future.

I have no background in science, and really took none of the hard sciences in college or graduate school (besides calculus and stats). Currently I have a 4.0 GPA, and my undergraduate GPA was a 3.7. I have several years of research experience as an undergrad in a biological psychology lab, and also worked for a year and a half as a case manager for infants with disabilities. I am wondering if it somehow "looks bad" applying to medical school after leaving a PhD program? I am also wondering if my age would be a disadvantage - after taking a postbac course to complete the science pre-recs, I'd be 30 when applying.

Thanks very much to anyone who has some advice!!!!!

Cheers!

Members don't see this ad.

couple words of advice.