riversoul

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Aug 20, 2006
Status
Medical Student
Hi all,

I will have interviews at NYMC and Drexel during the same week, with 1 day in between interviews. NYMC will be the 1st interview. For those of you who live in that area of the country (I'm a Cali resident btw), what's the cheapest, fastest, and safest way to get from Valhalla, NY to Philadelphia?

pennquaker08

10+ Year Member
Jun 21, 2007
Status
Metropark won't do you much good...it's smack in the middle of New Jersey. First, take the Metro-North Railroad from Valhalla to NY Grand Central Terminal. Then, you can take a taxi from Grand Central to NY Penn Station. At Penn, catch the NJ Transit Northeast Corridor Line to Trenton. At Trenton, transfer to the SEPTA R7 Chestnut Hill East, which will take you to Suburban Station in Center City Philadelphia. At Suburban, you can take a taxi to your hotel or the medical school or whatever.At Suburban, you can take a taxi to your hotel or the medical school or whatever. You could also take Amtrak from Penn Station straight to Philadelphia 30th Street Station, and then take a taxi from there, but it's more expensive.

I wouldn't recommend the Chinatown bus because (1) it's relatively unreliable and (2) you have to go into Manhattan to get it anyway, so you may as well just take the train which (at least NJ Transit + SEPTA) is comparably priced, more comfortable, and more dependable.

About the Ads

trinitee501

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
May 25, 2004
Status
Medical Student
I would say go with Penn Quaker's advice but instead of taking a cab from Grand Central to Penn Station, just take the S, I think.It's like one or two stops and definitely easier to navigate.

premeddick

10+ Year Member
Aug 14, 2006
Status
Does anyone have the easiest public transportation way to get from JFK to NYMC? Sorry to hijack and thanks for you help.

Lshapley

Old Man Med Student
10+ Year Member
Jul 2, 2006
Portland
Status
Medical Student