travel after residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

junebugjohnson

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everybody,

Thought I would add a thread here to stray away from the recent string of CRNA and ´anesthesia is doomed´ threads.

I am a current resident and am about half way done with my training. I have always loved to travel abroad, and used to do some travel writing prior to med school. In fact, being able to participate in mission trips was one reason I chose anesthesia (among many others).

I have always wanted to take an around the world trip. Since I am not getting any younger, and I am currently not tethered by a wife or kids, I have been toying with the idea of doing this once I finish residency and pass the boards. The trip would likely be 6 months to 1 year. I have contemplated and crunched the financial issues entailing this type of decision, and in many ways it is still worth it to me. I am passionate about travelling, it makes me happier and more satisfied with my life.

So, I was wondering if any of the attendings on this forum could comment on how this may affect my ability to land a good job when I return. Also, if anyone has taken a hiatus from practice, did you feel your skills came back to you easily, or that your abilities were damaged by the gap in practice. I have thought about helping with various mission trips as part of my travels, but I know that these can be tough to land a spot with as many people want to help.

I am currently at a program that is considered to be one the ¨best¨ in the country, for what that´s worth.

Please comment if you have any insight...

thanks, JBJ

Members don't see this ad.

Hello everybody,

Thought I would add a thread here to stray away from the recent string of CRNA and ´anesthesia is doomed´ threads.