Triple Board Residency- Would anyone be able to tell me of their experience?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

futureherooftime622

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi there,

Is there anyone who has completed/is currently in a triple board program (peds/adult psych/child psych)? If so, where? How did you go about deciding on triple board? What do most triple boarders end up doing career wise? This is actually my dream residency program. I really interested in both child psychiatry as well as paediatrics. What are some things I should keep in mind for applying? What is the cut off score for STEP?

I am currently a final year medical student. My plan is to graduate in June and then take time to do both my STEP 1 and 2.

Hopefully I'll hear back from someone soon!

Sincerely,

A hopeful triple boarder :)

Members don't see this ad.

When I pondered this as a medical student, everyone told me not to do it. They were right. Pick one and go full force at it. That will lead to a more productive career where you can later bridge to other specialties.

Total triple boarders with peds is quite low, so I’m not sure any post here.

I’ve met a few and all practice exclusively psych, with a mostly child lean. Any work that includes peds will reduce pay, and child psych is higher demand with employers.

Some academic centers require all peds boarded faculty to take call in peds. I’ve seen “triple boarders” refuse to take the peds boards to avoid taking peds call.

Reactions: 2 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Forgive the unsolicited opinion: