Trouble making close friends in med school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sylph

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I feel kind of embarrassed about this but I feel like I've been having a hard time making friends in med school compared to other people. This is my first year and it already seems like there are established "cliques" of people. I think a big part of this is the fact that I study the best by myself, whereas lots of other people seem to form groups. I'm also a really shy and reserved person. Has anyone else felt this way in med school??

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
So I feel kind of embarrassed about this but I feel like I've been having a hard time making friends in med school compared to other people. This is my first year and it already seems like there are established "cliques" of people. I think a big part of this is the fact that I study the best by myself, whereas lots of other people seem to form groups. I'm also a really shy and reserved person. Has anyone else felt this way in med school??

Being that you're shy and reserved it would be hard for other adults to establish a close relationship with you. Unfortunately, this is not high school or undergrad, where people will have time to break you out of your shell (Med School is too fast paced). Overtime, hopefully you will probably develop closer relationships with your classmates.
Good Luck:)

I feel the same way. Something about the stress and pressure cut me off from other people. It's like I don't have the energy to socialize, or the environment is not one in which I feel comfortable being myself. It's pretty hard to come out of your shell in the "med school" environment where most people are very outgoing. You are not alone in feeling like this. I wish I had some better advice but I am struggling with the same problem.

Members don't see this ad :)