Troubles

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted276313

I'm a college student that is just finishing his 2nd semester at college. I had been very fixed on becoming a physician for some time. First semester I did excellent academically and was fully ready to start second semester with a science and math class. I even started volunteering over Winter Break in a hospital under a nurse manager that my mother knows professionally. I loved the work and the environment and was driven even more toward a goal of eventually going to medical school.

I'm very strong in math and have no problem with comprehension, but I had incredible difficulty with chemistry. No matter how much I tried to focus on the subject, it was as if there were some sort of mental block disallowing me from fully understanding it. Usually things just "click" into place for me eventually and I excel in the said subject. This just didn't seem to happen for the first 2 months of the class, and I was doing awfully. I ended up dropping the class after I took the first test and felt too weak to continue.

So now I'm stuck in a predicament of whether I should continue broaden my studies in psychology and aim for graduate school, or whether I should try and focus more time on getting help with chemistry and continue with the pre-allopathic area. It's a very difficult decision, specifically with weighing out the pro's and con's of each side.

Members don't see this ad.

First I don't think u should change career plans based solely on performance on a single course. It's wayy too early to throw in the towel, talk to ex-classmates, ex-Prof, get tutoring, schaums, cliffnotes, online tutorials, something, anything but giving up.. I'm sure u'll do well next time around.