True value of D.O vs. M.D

Discussion in 'Medical Students - DO' started by hippuppy, Apr 20, 2000.

1. hippuppy

hippuppy Member

Attending Physician
    First of all, I am a college student, just took the MCAT and am planning on attending a D.O. school somewhere next year so I am by no means an educated individual on D.O. practices. My question is simply, why would you choose D.O. over M.D.? From the little bit of knowledge that I have aquired, Osteopathic Medicine appears to focus more on the entire patient and how their environment may be causing their medical problems. I grew up in a household where the less medical visits, the better. As a matter of fact, we often used homeopthy to treat colds, etc. I guess that I am concerned about the growing state of DO's. The allopathic board appears to be filled with less negativity yet I have read numerous posts here that almost make me feel like I am making a mistake by wanting to persue DO. Someone please enlighten me to the true joy of being a DO and how it plays a role in healing the patient, better and faster.
    Thanks

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. mj

mj Senior Member

I'm curious, why would you make a major life decision with only having "a little" information?

Translation: Tell me what I want to hear so I can feel better about my decision.

Interesting approach to solving a dilemma [​IMG]

mj

4. ewagner

ewagner Senior Member

#1, if hippuppy is asking for help, don't be an ass by making he/she look and feel stupid. Alrighty mj?

Hippuppy, I chose DO over MD because I wanted to go into orthopedics or rehab medicine. I was already a PT, so I new the benefits of rehab...I just felt that I needed to know about manipulation if I was to ever refer to one who practices manipulation. I also wanted to enhance my efficiency in case management and be more exact and critical in my referrals to rehab.