Trying to keep the dream alive...help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BStar

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a third year student at a medical school in Boston. I have had a deep interest in surgery since high school. However I recieved my board score and completely choked.I got below a 195. I Surgery is still something I want to do. Any advice on how to improve my chances, or even if I still have the chance.How can I improve my chances of being a surgeon?I have a couple of published abstracts and have two orthopedics publications in the works from some research I did last summer. I feel that this year many of my strengths will come out, as I feel that I excel in the hospital and at the bedside. It is my life's dream to be a surgeon and any help or words of encouragement would be greatly appreciated.. Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

It is possible... and don't let anyone tell you otherwise. The question you have to ask yourself is: am i willing to go to a) smaller city and/or b) community hospital. Both of these options aren't necessarily bad by any means. There are many very good community hospitals and maybe you wouldn't mind a city like worcester instead of a big city like Boston. Bottom line is if you want General Surgery, there are enough programs out there that you still have a reasonable chance at some of them. I'm not a General Surgery resident, but I do know a thing about low board scores and the stress of applying to a competitive residency. From someone who didn't follow his own heart to the end and lives to regret it now and then, let me just reiterate: follow your heart.