This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tutorthepeople

Customized tutoring and test prep
Vendor
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
TTP_IS_Jordan.png
In today’s episode of the TTP IS, we’re chatting with Jordan, Yale University graduate with a BA in history. Jordan is currently applying to medical schools. He scored a 523 on the MCAT!!

TTP: Hi there, Jordan! Thank you for participating in our TTP IS! This series is a unique opportunity for SDN pre-meds to read about people in the medical field such as yourself, and gain insight on what strategic steps you are taking as a pre-med, to hopefully gain acceptance to medical school. Please, tell us all about yourself. Was it hard to pursue a pre-med track while studying history in undergrad? Did you always want to become a doctor? Tell us all about your experience.

Jordan: Hi! The pleasure is mine! It’s pretty cool to be featured in this series. I graduated from Yale this past May (2017) with a degree in history, which actually surprises some people. I think the older generation expects pre-med students to major in more traditional fields like biology or one of the natural sciences, but it’s actually becoming more common for pre-meds to study subjects in the humanities or social sciences. Truthfully, it wasn’t so hard completing the pre-med requirements and studying history. If you’re taking classes you genuinely enjoy, whether in the sciences or history, then the limitations imposed by the pre-med requirements become much more manageable. As for my desire to pursue medicine, I was never one of those kids who grew up knowing they wanted to be a doctor. I started as someone who knew they liked the sciences, and my interest in medicine developed slowly from there. It wasn’t until my experiences working and shadowing in hospitals that I became confident I wanted to become a doctor.