Tufts vs. UW-M vs. LSU

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CrocRcool

Reaction score
I'm looking for some insight here. This is mainly Tufts vs. UW-M with LSU being a darkhorse because it's really hard to actually find any information on the school for some reason?

A little background: I'm an adult (31) student looking to pursue international conservation medicine. Not a total pipe dream, I've been working in international conservation for many years and know the limitations and difficulties presented by the career. I'm also aware things change in school, but I have very little interest in general small animal practice. My second choices will likely be a small animal specialty or academia. The schools are close enough in cost that my finances allow me choose a program based on other factors.

Tufts: Pros are I really liked the school and the programs/faculty. A large amount of faculty with my interests, the wildlife clinic on campus. Large caseload at the hospital. I'm originally from NJ/NY so being back on the east coast and drivable distance to friends and family is a bonus. Cons..it's rather isolated from people my own age. I'm friendly and I'm sure I'll make friends wherever I go with some classmates, but I worry that it will be difficult to meet people beyond school.

UW-M: Great school. Decent exotic load at the hospital. Madison is a fun town with lots to do. I have no visited the school yet so I'm not sure how I feel about it beyond that. Cons...Very little international exotic/conservation faculty. Madison is cool but its still the midwest. After doing a few years out here I can say that I get the appeal of widwestern life but it will never be my forever home.