Tuition and living expense

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kitty84

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I have a question. How do you guys (pharmacy students) pay for tuition and living when you are a non-resident? Do they give you the loan for the first year or how do you handle it? And do they count you as a resident for the second, third and fourth year?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm sorry, but what do you mean by non-resident? Do you mean an out-of-state resident?
If so, then that is my situation. I'm a out-of-state pharmacy student, and you get treated just the same as any other student, loans/financial aid and all. The only difference is your tuition is higher. At my school, it is 3k higher than in-state residents. You qualify to receive the same amount of aid/loans as any other student.
hope that helps.

I am considered an out-of-state resident, and so my tuition is over $5,000 per year higher than in-state residents. But I just learned today that after "living" (having an apartment while attending school) in-state for 6 months, I will be considered an in-state resident and my tuition will drop by that $5,000 figure. I will only have to pay an extra ~ $2,500 more for my first semester. What a relief!!

Members don't see this ad :)
loans, loans, and more loans.

stafford (sub. and unsub.)
gradplus
occasional work.

Yeah loans is the way to go, which you will probably be using anyways. It depends on the state whether or not you can become an in-state resident. For the schools I applied to, you can become an in-state after a year in North Carolina and New York. But Indiana you can never be in-state. I think you can't be in-state in Arizona too, though I've never worried about that one since I live here. The price difference can be from a few thousand to double the in-state tuition. Usually all the prices and the school's policy are posted on their website.