Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

Two questions!?!?! Shadow/LOR

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by 75969, Dec 14, 2005.

1. 75969

75969 Guest

Medical Student
    This winter break, I am going to type up a generic-type letter to physicians in an attempt to find shadowing experience. Those of you who have done this, what exactly should I put in the letter? Should I tell my availability (or would that be premature?)? I really don’t know how to phrase the letter (other than stating the obvious; that I am a student at ___university looking to shadow for whatnot reason---i.e. I REALLY need to know if I am making a HUGE mistake here or not!---but with better phrasing :)).

Also, those of you who are self-learners and do not attend classes, how have you secured positive LOR’s? I go to a huge university and most classes are 80-120+ students, however my professors in smaller seminar classes (40-75 people) actually learn peoples names (or at least the names of people who attend class and make themselves noticed). I have had several professors mention that they only care about people who are in class, since they are the only ones who care about learning, etc… I get little out of 90% of my classes and would be more efficient on my own, but then LOR would be a problem….

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. madonna

madonna Senior Member
    5+ Year Member

Medical Student
    in response to your first q, i'd better call or sop by the office you are interested. i doubt many docs will take their time to read and answer letter. there is a program in a hospital i volunteer at that hooks up students with doctors and you can even go with them to surgery. find out at you nearby hospital, mb you have that also.

4. 75969