Types of Clinical Experience

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

icevermin

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Is one type of clinical experience better than the other?

I am currently shadowing a Vascular Surgeon and I am a volunteer EMT at my local rescue squad. I've been trying to volunteer at the local hospital as a general volunteer for a while, but for some reason the secretary or whatever down there always gives me a hard time about volunteering.

I don't really know what happened before between us but she's always very negative towards me. Quick example: I was set to volunteer tomorrow but I had another commitment that I forgot about; this past Monday I was at the hospital shadowing the surgeon and I walked into the volunteer office to tell her I couldn't go (I was in scrubs, didn't have time to change in-between surgeries) and she flipped out at me and said that they're always over-booked and they won't need me for a long time

She also said that the department takes volunteers on a weekly basis but the thing was I had scheduled myself to volunteer two weeks in advance which she didn't understnad.. I don't know if it's worth it to try to keep trying to get her to allow me to volunteer...

Is it better to get shadowing and EMT clinical experience or try to actually make amends here? Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
i have a similar problem.
some of the volunteer people are quiet jerky..

Try different hospitals then, you don't have to volunteer at that particular place right? or maybe you could complain about her to someone.

Members don't see this ad :)
As a rule, non-shadowing is better than shadowing (as you're doing things). The EMT stuff sounds good. As above, I'd probably just try somewhere else. For whatever reason, the volunteer person doesn't seem to want to accept your free help.