Types of "Research" that help...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

StanMarsh1978

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone--

I was following the "Stanford" thread below and noted the emphasis from many advisors on doing "research" in order to maximize one's appeal to that particular school. I have a few quick follow-up questions on what constitutes useful "research". If anyone has insight on the following, I'd be grateful:

1) I'm an attorney, and I'm working now on some journal articles on legal topics that are not related to health care or medicine. Will the research and writing that goes into getting such articles published be of interest to admissions committees at all?

2) Alternatively, would legal journal articles on health related topics (health care policy, health care law, health care legislation, health care litigation, international aid, environmental law, etc.) be of interest to admissions committees at all?

3) Outside of law and my current knowledge, what is the effective path to establishing some research credentials? What is the range of topics in which reputable medical journals might show interest? Are we talking necessarily about Masters or PhD level research in biochemistry or physics, or is there a wider world in which to wander?

4) Which are the best websites or other avenues through which to review some sample research? This will give me a better sense of what we're dealing with here.

5) Also, with regards to Stanford, in following up this thread I noted that the school itself indicates a strong preference for speakers of foreign languages. Does that really mean, then, that foreign languges are not really a "plus" but rather a "sine qua non"? Just curious.

Thanks again, everyone.

Members don't see this ad.