U Wash, U Minn, UCSD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Which Program is best for MSTP with focus in Neurosci?

• University of Washington, Seattle

Votes: 17 53.1%
  • University of Minnesota, Twin Cities

Votes: 4 12.5%
  • University of California, San Diego (Waitlist)

Votes: 11 34.4%

• Total voters

nscs

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
My interest is neuroscience, specifically neuro-regeneration. U Minn's dept is a dept and is growing: new buildings and new faculty, though whether I'll be able to reap from that I don't know. U Wash is well-established, but has an interdisciplinary neuro program, not a dept, though there are many faculty working there in that area. UCSD has the most faculty working on my specific area of interest, some of whom I've worked for the others of who I've met, but they have me on the waitlist (I'm still an undergrad there...could that have something to do with it?). Also, should I be accepted into UCSD what's the advice on moving somewhere new and getting a "new perspective on how a different institution does science" as I've been told. Also, I don't know if I'll be accepted in the Midwest culture, one of the people I interviewed there told me about "the Minnesota Nice", how they'll be nice to me but won't really accept me. Whereas at U Wash the offer comes with open arms.

Sorry for all the scattered thoughts but I've hit a roadblock and I would really appreciate some input from those who know!

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

nscs said:
but they have me on the waitlist (I'm still an undergrad there...could that have something to do with it?).