UC-grad taking post bacc @ Cal State - Bad idea?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hunhyung

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
will it matter if i graduated from a UC
and then take post bacc classes at a Cal State University (not formal program, just choosing upper div. science courses)?

Cal states are, of course, much lower than UC's in terms of academic recognition and perceived difficulty (which may or may not be true)

or would I be better off taking post bacc classes at another UC?

The ultimate goal here is to boost gpa, stay close to home (california), save money, and DO WELL.

Members don't see this ad.

i heard most post bac programs give prefrence to students in their own post-bac program...

but I mean this is debatable...

u save more money by going to cal, prolly higher gpa etc etc

hunhyung:

I went to CalStateLA and I actually met a lot of people who were in your situation.

To address the cousework, I actually think the difficulty is the same if not harder. I'm currently taking a Neuroscience class at UCI, and it seems to be a little bit easier than the Neuro class at took at CSULA.

I'm not sure how a friend of mine did his post-bac, but he graduated from UCLA, worked for about 6 years, and then took classes at CSULA for about 3 years. In the process he retook his MCAT and etc. He did really well in his classes and from what he tells me the interviewers really appreciated that. He's at UCLA Drew right now.

I'm not sure what the best course of action for you is, but my AIM name is Lil IceBoy, if you want to talk about it.

Members don't see this ad :)