SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

ucla pre-meds: which life science courses have lab?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by pocwana, Jun 1, 2002.

  1. pocwana

    pocwana MD/MBA candidate c/o 2008 7+ Year Member

    1,128
    3
    May 11, 2002
    L.A.
    hi you guys.
    i've tried searching, but came up with nothing.
    for those who have taken it within the past couple of years (i think it was different before 1998, or so) which of the 4 have labs.
    i put 2 & 3, but I just want to make sure.
    thanks!
    :)
     
  2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. El Jefe

    El Jefe The Jefe 7+ Year Member

    332
    0
    Jan 14, 2002
    Los Angeles
    2,3 and 4 all had labs for me. 4's was more of a "computer" lab, but I still counted it on AMCAS.
     
  4. Street Philosopher

    Street Philosopher freebird 10+ Year Member

    6,279
    7
    Aug 10, 2000
    ann arbor
    i concur with el jefe
     
  5. UCLABruin

    UCLABruin Junior Member 7+ Year Member

    20
    0
    May 29, 2002
    Me too... :p
     
  6. pocwana

    pocwana MD/MBA candidate c/o 2008 7+ Year Member

    1,128
    3
    May 11, 2002
    L.A.
    great, thanks you guys.
    i knew i could count on sdn.

    i didn't include ls 4 because i didn't remember doing labs and was worried because most schools want a year of bio with lab.
    now i have my 3 courses i.e. 1 year of lab.
    woo-hoo.

    sdn'ers are awesome!
     
  7. Jalby

    Jalby I fight crime at day when Batman are sleeping. 10+ Year Member

    Damn I feel old. I took them back in the day when there wasn't a lab.
     
  8. bruinkid

    bruinkid Senior Member 10+ Year Member

    334
    1
    May 31, 2002
    Los Angeles, California
    ls 1 has lab
     
  9. pocwana

    pocwana MD/MBA candidate c/o 2008 7+ Year Member

    1,128
    3
    May 11, 2002
    L.A.
    i thought it's considered a demo, not a lab.
     
  10. I can't think of a name

    I can't think of a name Senior Member 7+ Year Member

    142
    1
    Oct 24, 2001
    California
    I think LS1 is considered a lab...at least, I wrote it down and no one complained.
     
  11. UCLABruin

    UCLABruin Junior Member 7+ Year Member

    20
    0
    May 29, 2002
    Now that I think of it, I am pretty sure it is a lab (for LS1). At least, that's what my roommate calls it... I haven't taken it yet.
     
  12. pocwana

    pocwana MD/MBA candidate c/o 2008 7+ Year Member

    1,128
    3
    May 11, 2002
    L.A.
    </font><blockquote><font size="1" face="Verdana, Helvetica, sans-serif">quote:</font><hr /><font size="2" face="Verdana, Helvetica, sans-serif">Originally posted by I can't think of a name:
    <strong>I think LS1 is considered a lab...at least, I wrote it down and no one complained.</strong></font><hr /></blockquote><font size="2" face="Verdana, Helvetica, sans-serif">I can't think of a name, did you apply for 2002?

    Thanks.
     
  13. bruinkid

    bruinkid Senior Member 10+ Year Member

    334
    1
    May 31, 2002
    Los Angeles, California
    LS 1 has lab for sure!
     
  14. UCLABruin

    UCLABruin Junior Member 7+ Year Member

    20
    0
    May 29, 2002
    Hey bruinkid, are you a freshman? Maybe I know you. :)
     
  15. bruinkid

    bruinkid Senior Member 10+ Year Member

    334
    1
    May 31, 2002
    Los Angeles, California
    uclabruin-
    nope, i'm not a freshman! graduating class of 2001!
     
  16. I can't think of a name

    I can't think of a name Senior Member 7+ Year Member

    142
    1
    Oct 24, 2001
    California
    I did apply for the entering class of 2002 and no school I talked to had a problem with listing LS1 as having a lab. I mean really, if they make you do that stupid seed gathering experiment, you should get credit for it!
     
  17. pocwana

    pocwana MD/MBA candidate c/o 2008 7+ Year Member

    1,128
    3
    May 11, 2002
    L.A.
    </font><blockquote><font size="1" face="Verdana, Helvetica, sans-serif">quote:</font><hr /><font size="2" face="Verdana, Helvetica, sans-serif">Originally posted by I can't think of a name:
    <strong>I did apply for the entering class of 2002 and no school I talked to had a problem with listing LS1 as having a lab. I mean really, if they make you do that stupid seed gathering experiment, you should get credit for it!</strong></font><hr /></blockquote><font size="2" face="Verdana, Helvetica, sans-serif">lol
    every time i'm in the ls building and see the underclassmen collecting the seeds i giggle :)
     
  18. dwc929

    dwc929 2+ Year Member

    310
    0
    Apr 20, 2008
    Bump

    So LS1-4 all w/ "lab"? I don't know how much curriculum has changed since then...

    I took them b/t '03-'07...and from what I remember...

    LS1 - had a "demo" but we did do some "experiments" if you want to count that spoon/seed evolution experiment

    LS2 - can't remember? I feel like there was some optional dissection maybe but don't know what else...

    LS3 - lab for sure

    LS4 - can't remember at all =(

    any help would be appreciated. thanks in advance
     
  19. SiR99

    SiR99 10+ Year Member

    330
    0
    Mar 4, 2007
    LS 2 and 3 have Labs

    LS 1 and 4 DO NOT have labs and you can not consider their discussion as labs

    for the last quarter of lab there is biochem 153L, and a couple of upper div classes which are labs and are required for most Life Science majors.
     
  20. Lukkie

    Lukkie Banned Banned

    2,776
    3
    Aug 2, 2007
    I hate Pre-Meds!!!
    MDApps:
    look at the original post dates... someone decided to bump a SIX YEAR OLD THREAD
     
  21. SiR99

    SiR99 10+ Year Member

    330
    0
    Mar 4, 2007
    dwc929 needed a question answered and I answered it so theres no real problem here. but it did feel kind of weird responding to a six year old thread lol
     

Share This Page