Dismiss Notice
Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

UCSD Vs. UCLA? Need some advice

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by norra, May 7, 2004.

1. norra

norra New Member

I need some help with my decision between UCSD and UCLA. I love the atmosphere, environment and the students at UCSD, but I am concerned with the curriculum. My question is the 8 AM to 5 PM schedule program at UCSD as effective as the 10 AM to 3 PM schedule program at UCLA? Is the traditional style of teaching at UCSD comparable to the more integrative style of teaching that uses problem solving and small discussion groups, such as the one at UCLA? Finally, what are other strengths and weaknesses for these two schools that you see? I greatly appreciate your advice and hope to hear from you soon.

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Hopegirl

Hopegirl Junior Member
    5+ Year Member

Let me preface this by saying that I have no direct experience with UCSD, and am only commenting on what I've heard from others. I was born and raised in San Diego, and I've heard many people say that the medical students at UCSD are just zombies - borderline suicidal. Now this may be true of any medical school student. I once found a website where med student's posted their satisfaction of their educational experience at their chosen institution, and the ones that I read from UCSD were horrific. People were literally begging others not to go there. So whether it's true or not, I'm not sure. Just wanted to give you my 2 cents and wish I could be of more help!

-j

4. somekevinguy

somekevinguy Senior Member
    10+ Year Member

I've thought about this quite a bit..along with some other comparisons, but in my opinion, what it comes down to is: