finikpalma

7+ Year Member
Nov 16, 2009
Status
Pre-Medical
So here is my story: I am a junior-year undergrad at an Ivy, majoring in Psychology, and am ultimately interested in a Clinical Psych PhD. I joined my major somewhat late, end of sophomore year, and as a result, I have only a year of research thus far, most of it pretty shallow (no real interaction with professors). My GPA is decent for my school, 3.5, and no GRE scores yet. Since I know I am not competitive for grad school yet, I am planning to take 1-2 years off after undergrad and work full-time as an RA to gain more experience.

My dilemma is this: next semester (fall of senior year) I have the opportunity to go study abroad in Japan. I have been studying Japanese for 3 years, and this would be an amazing opportunity to experience a new culture, etc.

On the other hand, next semester I also have the opportunity to take a Psych seminar that involves direct clinical placement, supervised by my professor. I would be working in a local mental health clinic for two semesters, learning behavioral therapy techniques, and would ultimately prepare a case study/report. This sounds like a great chance to work closely with a professor, gain clinical experience, and learn more about the actual practice of clinical psych. I would also be working as an RA in a lab and getting more research experience and taking upper-level psych seminars.

So I guess my question is this: which of these opportunities sound like a better option for me? On one hand, studying in Japan would be amazing and possibly life-changing (and I will be taking time off before grad school in any case). On the other, I have a great chance to improve my grad school competitiveness with in-depth clinical experience, research experience, and most likely also a good rec. It would also be an opportunity to make sure clinical psych is really the right career for me.