Ugh why do all letter writers want to see my personal statement?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

neuro17

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'll be applying this June and I'm in the process of getting my transcripts, personal statement, LORs sent to the pre-med committee/panel at my college. I graduated last May.

I'll have 3 LORs coming from my undergrad (2 science, 1 non-science) in addition to 2 LORs from PIs (who are also doctors).
The 3 professors have all asked for my transcript, resume, and personal statement before they start writing the letter. I know it is common for letter writers to want to see a personal statement before they write, but I'm really having trouble getting this done. All LORs are due in April for the committee. Which of these options sounds best?

1 - Send my professors my resume and transcript for now, and let them know I will follow up with my personal statement within the next couple of weeks. Maybe this will allow them to at least get started and they can add stuff when they have my PS?

2 - Relax and send them everything (resume, transcript, PS) in one tidy email when I finally have my statement done?

..Sorry this sounds totally neurotic (as does most stuff I read on SDN), but I really want to have strong LORs and I want my professors to have plenty of time to write them.

Members don't see this ad.

I fail to see why your LOR writers are demanding a copy of your PS/transcript/resume etc. Adcoms can see those stuff already and its essentially a waste of a letter to rehash all that. Are you sure your LOR writers can't write anything about you outside of what you did? Like personality, diligence, teamwork, leadership qualities, etc.?

Reactions: 1 users