unc or dartmouth

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

llt

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a NC resident who has been accepted at UNC and Dartmouth. I have always been partial to Dartmouth, with its small class sizes, curriculum, and location (I love New England). But the price tag is over 3x that of UNC, which is also ranked higher, whatever that means, and the population around Dartmouth seems a little homogeneous. I wouldn't be in too much debt after Dartmouth, but I wonder whether it is worth it and whether either choice would make a difference in my residency. Any ideas?

Thanks!!!

Members don't see this ad.

My friends at UNC have told me that they're not that happy. That might change when they get out of school with minimal debt. Right now, though, they're in a big school with a pretty traditional program.

I am at UNC and am very happy. I did well on my boards, got my first choice for residency (as did the majority of my class), and will have no debt when I leave.

Yes, it is a traditional curriculum and the class size is around 160. But you are divided into lab groups that make it seem smaller. Plus, I think the traditional curriculum is proven, as opposed to PBLs. Also, starting this year, lectures will be held in ultramodern classrooms

Either way, you probably won't go wrong, but I know that you can be happy at UNC.

Members don't see this ad :)
i went to dartmouth undergrad and spent a lot of time in the med school doing research and such.

the population is homogenious if you mean lots of white folks, but there is also a "critical mass" of diversity among the student body.