1. The SDN iPhone App is back and free through November! Get it today and please post a review on the App Store!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

UNC secondary "fill-in" not working?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by kiwibasket, Aug 12, 2006.

  1. kiwibasket

    kiwibasket Sushi Roller
    2+ Year Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Status:
    Pre-Medical
    Has anyone successfully figured out how to do the "fill-in" word or PDF document from UNC? I can open it in word but it won't let me make any changes and it's not set in read-only, so I can't figure out what to do...

    I don't want to hand-write it, it looks sloppy...
     
  2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

  3. Ari Gold

    Ari Gold .....
    5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just opened it in word and went to "tools" and clicked uprotect document.
     
  4. kiwibasket

    kiwibasket Sushi Roller
    2+ Year Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Status:
    Pre-Medical
    Thank you!
     
  5. Guile

    Guile 1K Member
    5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,664
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yeah, the PDF is not edit-able. They just posted a read-only copy. I have a Acrobat Professional and made my own fields and filled them in. I think it looks better than when you fill fields in on Word.
     
  6. Ari Gold

    Ari Gold .....
    5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    1
    um, what are you talking about? how does it look better?
     
  7. Guile

    Guile 1K Member
    5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,664
    Likes Received:
    4
    Well, it's pretty OCD, but when you underline something on Word and then extend the line on each side of it, it doesn't match up well. (Like this...____test____). In Acrobat, you can control exactly where the text lies on the line, so it ends up looking like a form that was filled in with a typewriter, minus the hideous font.
     
  8. ANCAdoc

    ANCAdoc Member
    Physician 10+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    28
    Status:
    Attending Physician
    In WORD, that is why I use textboxes. You can put those wherever you want and bingo...no formatting problems.
     
  9. Ari Gold

    Ari Gold .....
    5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    1
    oh, well i went ahead and deleted the lines. then i find today on their website that they put a new word doc without the underlines and just grey boxes. much easier. either way i think they just want our info, so i'm just sending it no matter how it looks.
     

Share This Page