Under Grad Major (Please Read)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Neon Black

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok, here's my story. Right now, I'm majoring in Computer Technology with a specialization in Network Security and a minor in business Management. The thing is, I really ****ing hate and am sick of my major. I know a few programming languages and other crap also.

+pissed+

Enter the possiblity of being a doctor.

My question to you guys is do DO Schools look down upon people that don't have an insane science background(like taking a lot of Bio and Chem classes)?

I will definetly take the MCAT requirements, but it seems like everyone who wants to be a doctor takes nothing science classes. Do you guys know any other kind of majors that get into DO Schools?

Thanks

Now Playing: Nevermore - the Politics of Ecstasy

Members don't see this ad.

This sounds kind of vague but I've heard and read many times that Med Schools just as readily accept non-science majors as say Biology majors. Your computer science backround seems to me like an in-between, but certainly no a big obsticle. It's probably more important that you did relatively well in your courses in light of your switch over. Also I've definetly heard of English, History, Enginering, etc.... majors getting in.

The thing to do now, like you eluded to, is to take the MCAT required courses and do well. Also keep in mind that most schools have a list of required subjects and hours needed to apply. For the most part taking the MCAT courses will fulfill these, however some additional hours might be specified.