Undergrad future applicant

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Vrach

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently in my third year and I will be graduating in Spring 2011 (though I might be able to graduate a semester earlier).

My current overall GPA is a 3.10 and I have not yet taken the MCAT. I still have 3 more semesters to go.
Major:Biology
My main bad courses were the Organic chemistry classes in which I got a C and also I got a D in inorganic which is accepted by my major but I am planning on retaking it. However, I have had great grades (A's) in my cell biology, microbiology, biochemistry, and intro biology classes. I have a B in genetics. In physics I have a B and I still have to take physics 2. I had a C in computer science but I go to one of the top engineering schools in US and that course was required and was hard.

Will be taking the MCAT either end of May or beginning of June in 2010.

I have 150+ shadowing hours at a private doctor's office as well as 50+ hours at a hospital.

I am president of Russian club and I am on the board of AMSA.

I am also considering a minor in Spanish.

I already know whom I will ask for my recommendations and those professors and doctors know me very well. I will have no problem with that.

What will I need to get on the MCAT to have a shot at Medical School?

Are my chances ok with my grades? Any comments on how to be a more competitive applicant?

Members don't see this ad.

The low GPA might make things a bit harder for you, but in no way will you have zero shot of getting in. Just work really hard to get A's all this year. Also, I'd retake gchem in the spring so that the admissions committees can see that you can handle it.

As far as the MCAT, 30+ is like the magic number it seems for medical schools, but you should just aim to do your best.

Do you have any volunteering experiences?