Undergrad GPA vs Grad GPA advice/thoughts

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lamborghiniMD

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Okay, so my undergrad cGPA is a 3.95 and my sGPA is a 3.93

I decided to go to grad school for fun and I also thought getting a master's would actually mean something. But between taking care of my sick grandma and working part-time my grades were not like my undergrad. my cGPA/sGPA is a 3.10.

I know its low, but the fact is, when I was an undergrad I wasn't taking care of somebody and I wasn't working. All I did was study and do volunteering.

Any thoughts on this? I heard med schools care more about your uGPA than your grad, but if you average the two, it comes to a 3.54-ish. which really hurts my 4 years working hard for that 3.95.

I also have a 27 on the mcat. Am I still a competitive applicant :(
I'm just hoping my other clinical ECs will help me.

Any thoughts from people who are going through something similar?

Members don't see this ad.

In your other thread you said your poor grad gpa was your dad's fault because he "made" you go to grad school - now it's because of your sick grandma? :rolleyes:

I decided to go to grad school for fun and I also thought getting a master's would actually mean something.
My dad basically made me go to graduate school (which I crammed in 1 year and got a masters)

I'm not trying to rag on you, but if you want advice here, at least be honest. Cross-posting two different stories in two different forums makes it look like you're jerking us around.

Last edited:
It might depend on what your grad major is, but having a low gGPA could be quite frowned upon.

Otherwise those numbers are workable.

Members don't see this ad :)
It might depend on what your grad major is, but having a low gGPA could be quite frowned upon.

Otherwise those numbers are workable.