undergrad & grad school grades issue

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

happygrl

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So here is my story:
I graduated with a 3.6 from UC Irvine, but failed out of grad school after my first year due to unexpected events beyond my control (I did all I could despite the circumstances, but ended up .02 away from passing). A couple years later, after some soul searching and more work/life experience, I've decided to go into medicine.

I am currently applying to post-bac programs to fulfill my pre-reqs. But given the above grades, in the end, is a post-bac still worth it? In other words, do I even stand a chance at med school given what happened in grad school? What can I do to improve my chances? If it helps, I have experience in cardiovascular health and have done research in public health.

I realize that adcoms will see failing out of grad school as a red flag, so I know it will be a tough road and that my grades aren't going away regardless what happens after. I am just hoping that my work/life experience so far + doing well at a post-bac will demonstrate that I am capable of med school and serious about becoming a doctor. Thoughts?

Thanks all.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Happygrl, it makes me sad to see you :-(.

This being said - what has changed during your soul searching? If there has been a strong change and things are much different (can range anywhere from priorities to study habits to overall stability), do you envision having a mind fit enough to enter back into the game?

Things can change - if you feel different than you did in grad school and find a strong program, it may be an entirely different ballgame than it was before. Our history, contrary to popular belief, has a fairly immeasurable effect on our future. You can do anything you set your mind to with the right stride (trust me, you can!)