Undergrad in need of advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

EHCAT4

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone. I have a question that I am not sure what to do with. I am currently a junior in a very rigorous Athletic Training program. My goal has been to pursue my DPT and possibly a PhD in neurology after I finish undergrad. I have observed in a lot of different PT/AT settings and am currently at an outpatient PT clinic for my clinical placement this semester. Seeing as my senior year is right around the corner I have been getting serious about looking at the graduate schools I want to apply to. I have hit a snag in my plan though. I recently had the opportunity to work with a DO, which I previously honestly had little to no understanding of, and he discussed a lot of the info about the field. Seeing that my major is AT and seeing what my goals are for my future, I realized my interest has been peaked. This is definitely not the best time for me to realize something such as this, but I cannot shake the interest that has peaked in me. Does anyone have any advice on anything with my situation. I have not looked at any MCAT info as I've been focused on the GRE. I have not had organic chem or biochem, but have the rest of the pre reqs for most schools, but just feel like I could not be prepared for the MCAT in time. I am an honor student at my institution and have some experiences such as shadowing surgeons at Duke (which I am doing again this summer) so I have some good connections with some high standing folks I could get info from. It also is not like I am completely deserting my DPT pursuit, but just wanted to see what some would say about my situation. Thank you all!

Members don't see this ad.