Undergrad Journals

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

neuropsych33

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi SDN,

I'm a current fifth-year undergrad with a completed thesis. My thesis was an original work, a pilot study, and all data collection and analyses conducted by myself and my co-authors for the purposes of this project (I'm the first author). We wrapped up the study a few months ago, and after my initial effort at publication with support from my mentor, it was recently rejected outright from a mid-level neuropsych journal. I've sent the paper off to a lower-tier journal, and have yet to hear back.

My question is this: If my paper is rejected from this lower-tier journal, is it worth it to continue to try to get it published in still other lower journals? Or am I better off submitting it to my institution's undergrad research journal, where I'm (cautiously) confident it would be accepted, and simply letting it be? I'll be attending a funded PhD program in the fall, and while I'd love to see my hard work be rewarded with a professional journal article, I also realize that I'm going to have my hands full soon and will have little time to work on publishing my undergrad work.

Any feedback is appreciated. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.