Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

Undergradate School and Major????

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by ERMED, Mar 11, 2002.

1. ERMED

ERMED Junior Member
    7+ Year Member

Hi Everyone~

OK, here is my problem. I am a student at a JC, ready to transfer on to a 4 year institution. I am from California and I have the grades to go to a UC but I am thinkingof attending a CSU because of many reasons, not academically related. That CSU is, Fresno State. DO you guys think going to a CSU will minimize my chances of getting accepted to a med school? I aint looking for a top med school, because that doesnt matter, I justwant to get in, as I am sure most of you do. So what do you guys think? CSU Fresno over UCLA,UC Berkeley, UCI,UC D, UCSD, or UCR? I basically like Fresno because of the enviroment, the student body, closer to home and cheaper. Now, My major is Psychology, but I am also very interested in Bussiness Administration, with a specialty in Information Systems. Do you guys think that choosing a Bussiness/Psych major will affect my chances of getting in? I mean, dont get me wrong, I can do a Bio or chem major, but I just find this other 2 more interesting. What do you guys think? I hope to see many advices because I have to maje my decision soon, I have been accepted to the above schools and I need to make a decision.

Thanks

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Doctora Foxy

7+ Year Member

Medical Student
    I think your major is a good choice. You are a well-rounded applicant and will be able to offer something unique to med school. Most med schools do not care what your major is, and I think some like to see non-science majors.