Undergraduate student in need of advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Pre-Med Student Z

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am currently an undergraduate student and have a very low GPA. I attended a community college and have an overall GPA of 3.03, I then attended a University (still a student there) and currently have a 2.60 GPA. I have already completed all the courses that I need to graduate with a B.S. in Biology and am working on re-mediating science courses that I performed poorly in. I applied to medical schools last year and have not been invited for an interview yet. My overall calculated AAMC GPA is 2.5. My BCPM GPA is 2.00 and AO is 3.16. My MCAT score was a 484. I do plan on re-taking the MCAT sometime this year. I have been looking into applying to a post-bacc program, one being California Northstate University College of Medicine.

I have heard a lot of negative reviews about this school and their post-bacc program. In particular, issues surrounding federal loans not being granted for their students. Is there anyone out there that has personally experienced their federal loan status being affected because of their accreditation status, which is at the preliminary stage? I recently met with their admissions counselor and I received a lot of positive advice and was encouraged to apply to their program. I do not want to commit myself to a program for a year that ultimately may not guarantee me a spot in their medical school. I would also be relying on federal loans to pay for my tuition.

I would very much appreciate any advice anyone has to offer me. Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
You should not have applied to medical schools with your stats because you had a 0 chance of interviews. Your first step should be finding a wise advisor. Your road to medical school will be long and difficult with a high chance of failure.

Reactions: 12 users