Dismiss Notice
SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

unhappiness in anesthesia

Discussion in 'Anesthesiology' started by ophtho2b, Apr 10, 2007.

1. ophtho2b

ophtho2b New Member

Medical Student
    Dear members,
    I am new to this thread and recently switched into anesthesia from another field. I have a question for the practicing residents and anesthesiologists out there. I am doing an anesthesia rotation right now in a transitional year program and all the anesthesiologists out here at this hospital are just bitter, mean, and totally unhappy with their work. They complain constantly and this is so very disheartening before I enter into the field. Maybe its just the group out here but they are very discouraging :(
    I chose anesthesia out of interest and because it is total applied medicine--pharm, cardio, phys, anatomy. Does the work really get brutal and unappreciative after a while of practicing? Why are so many of them so very sad?

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Planktonmd

Moderator Emeritus Lifetime Donor Classifieds Approved

Attending Physician
    Your questions have been answered many times on this forum, just do an archive search.

4. VentdependenT

VentdependenT You didnt build thaT
    Physician Moderator Emeritus

Fellow [Any Field]
    sound like a bunch of cry babies

5. VolatileAgent

VolatileAgent Livin' the dream

giving anesthesia is tiring. yes, it's tiring. it takes a special person to sit there for hours... you know the saying, hours of boredom - moments of terror. most people not in the field do not realize that. when i have rotators with me (med students and residents from other fields), they are inevitably yawning by early afternoon and/or asking if they can be excused. i see it all the time.