unhappy with performance in dental school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

calvin harris

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am a first year dental student and I am currently very unhappy with my performance. I'm able to scrape by and get B's and C's in most of the easier subjects (Neuro, Ortho classes, Dental Anatomy, etc) and I got a B in gross anatomy, but I'm currently failing my physiology class and I'm not sure how I can do better... I study every night after school and all weekend but for some reason this isn't translating onto my exams. Do any older students have advice on what I can do to calm down and get through the semester?

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 users
pass theory, focus on clinical, learn about the business side of dentistry.

Reactions: 1 users
I'd consider going to the instructors and asking for their advice. Do you have any released exams? Most schools have oldies of some sort - be careful as this might be a touchy subject with some professors! Physio is much more about how things work - sometimes you need to work in a study group and try to explain things to each other, this helped me a lot. Studying by yourself can be less effective sometimes. I find it funny how everyone considers different classes, at my school our Physio instructor was amazing, and it was a fairly straightforward class, and Head and Neck Anatomy / Neuro Anatomy was one of the hardest classes at our school.

Good luck!

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Older students tell me school's a marathon although it's a cliche. Just try not to drop the ball and maintain your work ethic. I slipped and may get a B or 2 (hopefully not) on some science courses but we'll see. It's hard to maintain the standards you set first semester. Good luck

Hello,