Unique situation! committee letter quesion Help!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bkprodigy

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm in a dilemma here.
It looks like it's going to be a long post, but here I go!

I graduated from my undergraduate 3 years ago with BS in biology, but with a very very horrible GPA. Since then, I did research for 3 years where I gained a tremendous amount of research experience (surgical/neurosurgical skills + lab skills etc) and published journals, posters, and abstracts.

I have taken the MCAT last august and scored a 30S (will retake this july or august). Also, I took 3 graduate level biotech courses in which I got all A's. I have shadowed physician and volunteered at the hospital. I applied to 6 SMP programs for this fall, and in the meantime, I re-enrolled in my undergraduate to take some upper level science courses which I expect to get A's in all 5 courses.

Now onto the problem,
I want to apply to a few schools this cycle while I am doing the SMP (if I get accepted). So by then, I will have 1 semester SMP grade + horrible undergraduate GPA + 3 A's in biotech + 5 A's in undergraduate science.
I can have upto 6 VERY good individual letters from doctors I worked with.
I can also get 2 science professors this semester to write me a letter.
Will it benefit me if I get the committee letter at this point?
Keep in mind that I do not think the committee will have 1 positive thing to say about me if they focus their evaluation based on my undergraduate performance.

Advice?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm in a dilemma here.
It looks like it's going to be a long post, but here I go!

I graduated from my undergraduate 3 years ago with BS in biology, but with a very very horrible GPA. Since then, I did research for 3 years where I gained a tremendous amount of research experience (surgical/neurosurgical skills + lab skills etc) and published journals, posters, and abstracts.