University Branches

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Southern_Weather

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Dear SDN Members,
I have done extensive research on your forum and I have learned a lot! This is a fantastic forum :) I finally registered to be a member because I was not able to find information in regard to some things that I am curious about. I am a pre-med student ( I am still undecided in regard to MD/ DO) but that is not relevent to this post. I am in my sophmore year at my local community college, MGCCC. I will obtain my Associates degree and transfer to the University of Southern Mississippi in hopes of either attending the new osteopatic school in Hattiesburg or the Allopathic school in Jackson. Now, my question is in regard to the USM branch in Long Beach, MS. Long Beach is significantly closer to where I live than Hattiesburg. Granted, I will have to move eventually to attend either school but I twould like to do all my undergrad close to home. So does it matter if I attend a branch of a university instead of the traditional one that is in Hattiesburg? Will Medical schools frown upon it? The branch is a lot smaller than the traditional one and has significantly fewer classes but they do have all the classes that I want to take. Any response is greatly appreciated:)

Members don't see this ad.

As long as it's a 4-year university, I doubt schools will care as long as you take the pre-reqs and do well. One thing to consider is that satellite/branch campuses could be made up of mostly commuters and you might be limited on extracurricular activities.